Road Trip!!
June 3, 2007, 8:37 pm
Filed under: Personal

CJ and I just returned from an awesome road trip out to West Texas.  We hit up Big Bend National Park and the unique town of Marfa, TX.  Of course, we took a ton of photos and I can’t wait to finish editing them and get them posted.

In the meantime, here’s a photo of the ocotillo that populates the desert of Big Bend and one of a little visitor to our campsite. When I was a kid, we would pick these up and let them crawl around in our hands, but this time around I just didn’t have the nerve. This guy had to be at least 6 inches in diameter, so can you blame me?  I’m just glad that we had the opportunity to see a tarantula instead of one of the mountain lions that live within the park.  We camped waaaaaay out in the backcountry the first night, so we were definitely watching our backs throughout the evening. I thought for sure that the aroma of our tasty blue-cheese burgers would lure them to our site, but no sightings thank God! See Mom, we survived!

dsc_0163ablog.jpg

dsc_0048blog.jpg

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I was totally gonna put my hand close to the tarantula to show scale in the picture but it was too big and hairy scary!

Comment by ceej




Leave a Reply

